BitcoinDatabase.com

Compare · Crypto APIs

Crypto APIs alternative for Bitcoin data and fee estimates

Crypto APIs is a broad blockchain API suite: 35+ networks, HD wallets, webhooks and fee recommendations from $49 a month. If you run several chains, it is a sensible buy.

If Bitcoin is your whole book, you need fee rates checked against what blocks paid and balances to the satoshi. We measured both sides on 18 September 2026.

REST API · SQL · dashboards · address history since the 2009 genesis block

Query Console
btc
try:

Hit Run to query the Bitcoin blockchain.

Live from the chain for .

BTC

Balance trail

informational on-chain data · not financial advice

REST API · SQL · dashboards, one indexed dataset. Reading the chain ...

Crypto APIs leads on breadth across 35+ networks with wallets, signing and webhooks in one suite, while BitcoinDatabase indexes only Bitcoin, deeply, so you can check a fee quote or a balance against the chain itself over REST and SQL.

Side by side

Crypto APIs vs BitcoinDatabase, honestly

A fair look at what each does well. Both are capable tools. Here is where they differ.

What matters BitcoinDatabase Crypto APIs
Chain coverage Bitcoin only, by design 35+ networks across UTXO, EVM, XRP, Solana and others
Entry paid plan Developer, $49 a month, 500,000 API credits, REST API included Starter, $49 a month or $40 billed annually, 30,000,000 credits
Mid and top plans Growth $199 a month adds SQL, Scale $799 Scale $299 ($249 annually), Pro $799 ($665 annually)
Free tier No free plan, a one-time demo query on the site Yes: 100,000 credits a month, one Blockchain Events subscription, no address history
Bitcoin fee recommendations Live mempool state plus the fee and weight of every confirmed transaction Mempool-based fast, standard and slow, returned as strings with unit BTC
Check a fee quote against what blocks paid Yes, same index, one SQL query over any block range You would pull block data and compute it yourself
Address history One year on Developer; full history from the 2009 genesis block on Growth and Scale Latest endpoints cover roughly 14 days; full history is a separate paid-only product
SQL over the chain Yes, POST /v1/sql from Growth Not offered; REST and WebSocket
HD wallets, signing, broadcast Not offered Yes, including an MIT-licensed offline signer
AML address screening Entity labels as context for your own review Verify Address product, included from Starter
Unauthenticated request HTTP 401 HTTP 401 with a clear missing_api_key code, in 0.06 to 0.14s
Best suited for Bitcoin exchanges, wallets and analysts who need to audit fees and balances Multi-chain products that want wallets, payments and data from one vendor

Comparison reflects general, publicly understood positioning. Capabilities change, so check each product for the latest.

Why teams pick BitcoinDatabase

The fully indexed Bitcoin blockchain, queryable by REST, SQL and dashboards

What Crypto APIs costs, read from its pricing page

We read the pricing page on 18 September 2026. Four plans are listed. Free gives 100,000 credits a month with a soft throughput of 100 and a hard throughput of 1,000, one Blockchain Events subscription, and no HD wallets, address history, AML or x402. Starter is $49 a month, or $40 billed annually, with 30,000,000 credits. Scale is $299, or $249 annually, with 200,000,000. Pro is $799, or $665 annually, with 600,000,000. Overage is sold by the credit, roughly $1 per 291,545 credits on Starter and $1 per 318,522 on Scale, and the page itself points out that 600,000,000 credits cost $2,004 on Starter with overage against $799 on Pro. That is an honest page, and the arithmetic holds. The thing to price before you sign is not the plan, it is how many credits each Bitcoin call you make will burn, because that number decides which plan you are really on.

Their fee endpoint, and the unit you need to confirm

The UTXO fee reference, GET /blockchain-fees/utxo/{blockchain}/{network}/mempool, says its recommendations are built from mempool data and calculated live, which is the right approach. It returns three strings, fast, standard and slow, each described as a gas price calculated from unconfirmed transactions, with a unit field of BTC and example values of 0.000025, 0.000015 and 0.000010. The reference we read does not state the size denominator, per byte, per virtual byte or per kilobyte, while the separate smart-fee endpoint is documented as a fee per kilobyte. None of that is wrong, but a number of bitcoin with no size attached cannot go straight into a fee calculation. Call it once with a test key and convert it to sat/vB before it touches a withdrawal. We also found the developer llms.txt listing a different path, /blockchain-fees/{blockchain}/{network}/mempool/fees, and every path we tried returned 401 before routing, so the key is the only way to tell which is current.

Why no single fee estimate is safe to trust blind

On 17 September 2026 at block 967,354, mempool.space quoted 1 sat/vB for the next block, Blockstream Esplora 3.119 and BlockCypher 4.003, while the median fee rate actually paid over fifteen blocks was 0.348. mempool.space was the cheapest and closest. On 18 September at block 967,554, read at 13:03 UTC with all three reporting the same tip, the order flipped: mempool.space quoted 5 for its fastest tier, BlockCypher 2.856 and Esplora 1.069, against a median of 1.02 sat/vB across the thirty blocks 967,525 to 967,554. The estimator that was lowest one day was highest the next, by nearly five times the going rate. Any fee API, Crypto APIs included, is a model of a queue. The only defense is to measure what your own transactions paid against the blocks that confirmed them, and that is a data question rather than an estimation one.

Where Crypto APIs is the better buy

If you support Ethereum, Solana or XRP alongside Bitcoin, one integration across 35+ networks beats stitching vendors together, and nothing here replaces that. The same goes for HD wallet management by xPub, server-side transaction preparation, broadcast, and the MIT-licensed offline signer that builds and signs transactions locally without sending a private key anywhere. Their free tier is also a real one, useful for a prototype, which ours is not. BitcoinDatabase is the better fit when Bitcoin is the business and the job is to audit it: realized fee rates on your own withdrawals, balances at a past block height, full address history in one call, and SQL across the indexed chain for reconciliation and research.

Good questions

Crypto APIs vs BitcoinDatabase, answered

Four plans were listed on 18 September 2026: Free at $0 with 100,000 credits a month, Starter at $49 a month or $40 billed annually with 30,000,000 credits, Scale at $299 or $249 annually with 200,000,000, and Pro at $799 or $665 annually with 600,000,000. Extra credits are billed as overage, at roughly $1 per 291,545 credits on Starter.
Yes. The Free plan includes 100,000 credits a month, a soft throughput of 100 and a hard throughput of 1,000, and one Blockchain Events subscription. HD wallets, address history, AML screening and x402 are listed as paid only. It is enough to prototype an integration, not to run production withdrawals or reconciliation.
It depends on how many chains you run. If Bitcoin is one of many, stay with a multi-chain suite. If Bitcoin is the whole business, a Bitcoin-only index gives you fee rates you can check against confirmed blocks, balances to the satoshi at any height, and full history in one call. BitcoinDatabase does that over REST from $49 a month and adds SQL from $199.
We could not measure it without a key, and we do not guess. Its reference says estimates come from live mempool data, the same method as mempool.space. On 18 September 2026 that method quoted 5 sat/vB for the next block against a 1.02 sat/vB median actually paid across thirty blocks. Measure any provider against what your own transactions confirmed at.
The documented response returns fast, standard and slow as strings with a unit field of BTC, for example 0.000025. The reference we read does not state whether that is per byte, per virtual byte or per kilobyte. Its separate smart-fee endpoint is documented as a fee per kilobyte. Confirm with a test call and convert to sat/vB before using it in production.
Yes, on a paid plan. Its own documentation says the addresses-latest endpoints cover roughly the last 14 days and points to a separate addresses-historical product for anything older, and the pricing page lists Address History as paid only. BitcoinDatabase returns one year of history on Developer and full history from the 2009 genesis block on Growth and Scale, through the same endpoint.
At entry they cost the same, $49 a month. Above that the plans are not like for like: Crypto APIs Scale is $299 for more credits across 35+ chains, while BitcoinDatabase Growth is $199 and adds SQL over the Bitcoin chain. Credits are not comparable units either: our Developer plan carries 500,000 API credits against 30,000,000 on their Starter, and the cost per call differs on each side. Price your real call volume on both before deciding.
No. BitcoinDatabase provides informational on-chain data and analytics only. It is not investment, financial or legal advice. Vendor facts on this page were read directly on 18 September 2026, and pricing, credit rules or endpoints may change after that date. Crypto APIs is a trademark of its owner.

Explore the data

The Bitcoin data you can query here

More comparisons

See how BitcoinDatabase compares

vs Glassnode

Glassnode alternative

Raw queryable Bitcoin data over REST, SQL and dashboards, not just curated charts.

vs Dune

Dune alternative

Bitcoin-only and fully-indexed, with a REST API too, not just cross-chain SQL.

vs Blockchair

Blockchair alternative

Bitcoin-deep with every UTXO, entity labels, metrics, SQL and dashboards.

vs Chainalysis

Chainalysis alternative

Developer-first, self-serve on-chain data with compliance tooling to support your own review.

vs BlockCypher

BlockCypher alternative

Bitcoin-native depth with SQL and dashboards, not just a multi-chain REST API.

vs Chainstack

Chainstack alternative

Indexed Bitcoin data over REST and SQL, not raw RPC nodes you still have to query.

vs Blockchain.com

Blockchain.com API alternative

Production-grade indexed Bitcoin data over REST and SQL, not a rate-capped free explorer API.

vs Mempool.space

Mempool.space alternative

Indexed address, balance and history data over REST and SQL, alongside mempool and fees, on production plans.

vs CoinAPI

CoinAPI alternative

On-chain Bitcoin data: addresses, balances, UTXOs and labels, not cross-asset market prices.

vs TRM Labs

TRM Labs alternative

Bitcoin-native on-chain data and screening signals over REST and SQL, not a full multi-chain investigations suite.

vs Whale Alert

Whale Alert alternative

Query large bitcoin transactions on your own thresholds from the fully-indexed chain, not just a fixed real-time feed.

vs CoinGecko

CoinGecko alternative

Raw on-chain Bitcoin data over REST and SQL, not market prices across thousands of coins.

vs CoinMarketCap

CoinMarketCap alternative

On-chain Bitcoin data over REST and SQL, where CoinMarketCap serves market prices.

vs Blockdaemon

Blockdaemon alternative

A query-first indexed Bitcoin database over REST and SQL, not raw node RPC infrastructure.

vs Xverse

Xverse alternative

Query indexed ordinals, inscriptions, BRC-20 and Runes data over REST and SQL, not just wallet and minting endpoints.

vs BigQuery

BigQuery alternative

Balances, entity labels and fund flows already indexed, without per-terabyte scan billing.

vs Bitquery

Bitquery alternative

Bitcoin-only depth over REST and SQL, billed on calls rather than on points that move with query shape.

vs TimechainIndex

TimechainIndex alternative

Bitcoin-only like TimechainIndex, with published pricing and a commercial REST API.

vs CryptoQuant

CryptoQuant alternative

API access on the entry plan and the raw chain underneath, not day-resolution metrics.

vs Alchemy

Alchemy alternative

An indexed Bitcoin database you query by address, not a Bitcoin Core JSON-RPC passthrough.

vs QuickNode

QuickNode alternative

An indexed Bitcoin database you query by address, not a managed Core node with the address-capable calls switched off.

vs Hiro

Hiro alternative

Hiro retired its Bitcoin Layer 1 APIs. The endpoints now answer HTTP 410 Gone, and the migration link inside that answer is itself dead.

vs Amberdata

Amberdata alternative

Amberdata belongs to Kaiko as of June 2026. Its pricing page loads but publishes no number, and its API answers a missing key three different ways.

vs Elliptic

Elliptic alternative

Elliptic publishes no pricing and sells its screening API only on a negotiated contract. We measured its endpoints, and the OFAC list underneath it, on 4 September 2026.

vs Merkle Science

Merkle Science alternative

Merkle Science publishes no pricing and gates every product behind a demo. We measured its site, its API documentation and its blockchain coverage on 6 September 2026.

vs Coin Metrics

Coin Metrics alternative

Coin Metrics is now Talos and its pricing page is gone. We measured the redirects, the free community API and the exact metrics it withholds on 8 September 2026.

vs CoinGlass

CoinGlass alternative

CoinGlass publishes exchange balances per wallet address, hourly and rounded, from $29 a month with no free tier. We measured its plans, its documented precision and its Bitcoin gaps on 10 September 2026.

vs Tatum

Tatum alternative

Tatum covers 130+ blockchains from $49 a month. For Bitcoin history, balances at a past block and fee rates, we priced its plans and measured the Bitcoin side on 22 Sep 2026.

vs NOWNodes

NOWNodes alternative

NOWNodes sells shared node and Blockbook access across 100+ networks from 20 euros a month. We read its price list and hit its Bitcoin endpoints on 26 Sep 2026.

vs GetBlock

GetBlock alternative

GetBlock sells shared nodes on 130+ chains, priced in compute units, from $49 a month. We read its plan table and CU rules and probed its Bitcoin endpoints on 27 Sep 2026.

vs Arkham

Arkham Intelligence alternative

Arkham names wallets across seven networks and grants its API by application. We read its access terms and probed its API on 28 Sep 2026.

vs Santiment

Santiment alternative

Santiment sells 1,000+ metrics across 2,800 assets over GraphQL. We read its plans and tested its Bitcoin balance query against the chain on 29 Sep 2026.

vs Nansen

Nansen alternative

Nansen labels wallets across 38 chains, and Bitcoin is one of them. We read its API docs, credit table and pay-per-call terms on 30 Sep 2026.

vs Allium

Allium alternative

Allium sells enterprise blockchain data across dozens of chains, Bitcoin included. We read its docs, unit tables and keyless pricing on 1 Oct 2026.

vs Flipside

Flipside alternative

Flipside sold its blockchain data business to SonarX in May 2026 and its old domain now redirects to an enterprise AI product. We checked what is left on 2 Oct 2026.

vs SonarX

SonarX alternative

SonarX ships Bitcoin as Snowflake shares, file dumps and Kafka streams, and turns on Bitcoin balances and REST on request. We read its Bitcoin page and checked its pricing URL on 5 Oct 2026.

vs GoldRush

GoldRush alternative

GoldRush, the API formerly sold as Covalent, covers 100 plus chains and gives Bitcoin three endpoints. We read its Bitcoin docs and pricing page on 6 Oct 2026.

vs Scorechain

Scorechain alternative

Scorechain is a Luxembourg blockchain analytics firm covering 25 plus chains. We read its site, its QuickNode add-on docs and pricing on 7 Oct 2026.

vs AMLBot

AMLBot alternative

AMLBot sells wallet checks, KYT monitoring and KYC to crypto businesses across many chains. We read its site and plan guide on 8 Oct 2026.

Query the whole Bitcoin blockchain in one place

An address in, structured on-chain data out. BitcoinDatabase serves balances, UTXOs, transactions, entity labels and fund flows, with address history back to the 2009 genesis block over REST, and SQL and dashboards over the indexed chain. No node to run.

See pricing

REST + SQL + dashboards · new blocks within seconds · informational on-chain data only